- Global Voices - http://globalvoicesonline.org -

Japan Earthquake 2011

Written by Emma Brewin On 11 March 2011 @ 15:29 pm | 176 Comments

In

Photo from March 11 earthquake in Japan shared by @mitsu_1024 (via wikitree.co.kr) [1]

Photo from March 11 earthquake in Japan shared by @mitsu_1024 (via wikitree.co.kr)

Table of Contents

On Friday, March 11, 2011 at 2:46:23 p.m. local time, an 8.9-magnitude earthquake struck Japan, the largest in recorded history. The resulting tsunami that swept the coast resulted in over 10,000 deaths and widespread destruction. One of the key stories of the disaster was the damage sustained to the coastal Fukushima nuclear power station as a result of the quake and tsunami; workers battled for days to avoid a meltdown at the plant.

Please contact Global Voices Japanese Editor Tomomi Sasaki [7] if you have links or story ideas, or want to add to this page's resource list.

What we do: Global Voices [8] bloggers from East Asia report on how citizens use the Internet and social media to make their voices heard, often translating from a variety of different languages.

Featured Global Voices Posts – Japan Earthquake 2011

Back to Contents [15]

Aftermath

2012

24 Sep – Japan: Citizens Respond to New Nuclear Power Policies [16]
20 Sep – Japan: Fukushima Nuclear Cleanup Worker Dangers Revealed [17]
20 Mar – Video: Surfers, Fishermen and Radiation in Post Earthquake Japan [18]
12 Mar – Brazil: Mihoko Satou, a Bridge-Blogger After the Japan Earthquake [19]
17 Feb – Japan: Netizens Cast Doubt on Anti-Nuclear Power Poster [20]

2011

15 Aug – Japan: How to Unplug Your Life and Save Electricity [21]
14 Jul – Japan: Indie Music Rocks the Nukes [22]
10 Jul – Japan: A Fukushima Poet Tweets His Verses [23]
22 May – Japan: Aiding the Aid Workers [24]
12 Apr – Fukushima: Public Criticism and a Rising Anger [25]
06 Apr – Japan: “The Fear of Magnitude 0″ [26]
02 Apr – Southeast Asia: Media Says Sorry Over ‘Insensitive’ Japan Posts [27]

March 2011

31 Mar – Japan: The Tsunami, God and Man [28]
27 Mar – Japan: Relief Tweets for Refugee Parents [29]
24 Mar – Japan: The Importance of Getting Back to Normal [30]
23 Mar – Serbia: Returning Gratitude for the Japanese Donations [31]
19 Mar – Bulgaria: Offering Shelter to Japanese Earthquake Victims [32]
19 Mar – Japan: “The Light and Darkness of Social Media” [33]
19 Mar – Japan: Wondering About the Meaning of Life [34]
19 Mar – Japan: Tweeting from Fukushima [35]
18 Mar – Japan: Good Wishes and Prayers Sent Through Video [36]
17 Mar – Japan: Crisis Management PR Lessons from Cabinet Secretary Edano [37]
17 Mar – Japan: Citizen Videos of the Earthquake [38]
17 Mar – Japan: Anime Explains Current Nuclear Crisis [39]
16 Mar – South Korea: Old Feuds Forgotten as Koreans React to Japan Quake [40]
16 Mar – USA: Science Bloggers Explain Earthquakes and Tsunamis [41]
16 Mar – Philippines: Bloggers Dispel Japan Nuclear Scare Hoax [42]
16 Mar – China: Salt Radiation Rumors Fuel Widespread Panic Buying [43]
16 Mar – Japan: Earthquakes Moving South? Anxiety Builds in Kansai [44]
16 Mar – Japan: Social Art and Design for Earthquake Relief [45]
16 Mar – Ukraine: Comparing Fukushima to Chernobyl? [46]
15 Mar – Japan: Frustrations from the Overlooked [47]
15 Mar – Japan: Waiting for the Right Moment to Help [48]
15 Mar – USA: Science Bloggers Explain Fukushima [49]
15 Mar – Japan: Tell the World to Help [50]
14 Mar – Russia: Fukushima Plant Disaster Triggers Nuclear Power Debate [51]
14 Mar – Japan: On Catastrophes and Miracles, a Personal Account [52]
14 Mar – Japan: “Not That Sound Again” [53]
13 Mar – Japan: Social Translation in Times of Crisis [54]
13 Mar - Japan: Toxic Rain, Earthquake Weapons and Other False Rumors [55]
13 Mar – Peru: Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Affect Peruvians [56]
13 Mar – Japan: “Why do we need nuclear power?” [57]
13 Mar – Japan: Onagawa, the Hometown I Once Knew [58]
12 Mar – Japan: Fear in Fukushima [59]
12 Mar – Taiwan: Reflection on Japan Earthquake [60]
11 Mar – Japan: Tsunami Strikes Coast, Leaves Nothing in Wake [61]
11 Mar – Japan: In Tokyo after the Earthquake [62]
11 Mar – Quake in Japan: Tokyo Tower Bent by Quake [63]
11 Mar – Largest Earthquake in Recorded History in Japan [64]

Resources

Back to Contents [15]

Twitter

Hashtags:

Twitter lists:

Key Tweeps:


Maps

Websites

Back to Contents [15]


Article printed from Global Voices: http://globalvoicesonline.org

URL to article: http://globalvoicesonline.org/specialcoverage/2011-special-coverage/japan-earthquake-tsunami-2011/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://globalvoicesonline.org/specialcoverage/2011-special-coverage/japan-earthquake-tsunami-2011/japan-earthquake-2/

[2] Latest Global Voices Japan Posts: #latest

[3] Featured Global Voices Posts – Japan Earthquake 2011: #featured

[4] Twitter: #twitter

[5] Maps: #map

[6] Websites: #website

[7] Tomomi Sasaki: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/tomomi-sasaki/

[8] Global Voices: http://globalvoicesonline.org/

[9] RSS: http://globalvoicesonline.org/-/world/east-asia/japan/feed/

[10] China's National Mahjong Team Loses To Japan: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2014/07/18/chinas-national-mahjong-team-loses-to-japan/

[11] 77 Years Ago, a War That Killed Millions Began Between China and Japan: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2014/07/07/77-years-ago-a-war-that-killed-millions-began-between-china-and-japan/

[12] Ready Your Smartphones: The Chat App Sticker Wars Have Begun: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2014/07/04/smartphone-chat-app-stickers-line-vs-wechat/

[13] What's the Beef? Strike Call at Japanese Fast Food Chain Sukiya: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2014/05/29/tokyo-fast-food-workers-demand-higher-pay/

[14] VIRAL VIDEO: ‘But We're Speaking Japanese’: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2014/05/25/viral-video-but-were-speaking-japanese/

[15] Back to Contents: #contents

[16] Japan: Citizens Respond to New Nuclear Power Policies: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/09/24/japan-citizens-respond-to-new-nuclear-power-policies/

[17] Japan: Fukushima Nuclear Cleanup Worker Dangers Revealed: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/09/20/japan-fukushima-nuclear-cleanup-worker-dangers-revealed/

[18] Video: Surfers, Fishermen and Radiation in Post Earthquake Japan: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/03/20/video-surfers-fishermen-and-radiation-in-post-earthquake-japan/

[19] Brazil: Mihoko Satou, a Bridge-Blogger After the Japan Earthquake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/03/12/brazil-mihoko-satou-a-bridge-blogger-after-the-japan-earthquake/

[20] Japan: Netizens Cast Doubt on Anti-Nuclear Power Poster: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/02/17/japan-netizens-cast-doubt-on-an-antinuclear-power-poster/

[21] Japan: How to Unplug Your Life and Save Electricity: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/08/15/japan-how-to-unplug-your-life-and-save-electricity/

[22] Japan: Indie Music Rocks the Nukes: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/07/14/japan-indie-music-rocks-the-nukes/

[23] Japan: A Fukushima Poet Tweets His Verses: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/07/10/japan-a-fukushima-poet-tweets-his-verses-around/

[24] Japan: Aiding the Aid Workers: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/05/22/japan-aiding-the-aid-workers/

[25] Fukushima: Public Criticism and a Rising Anger: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/04/12/fukushima-public-criticism-and-a-rising-anger/

[26] Japan: “The Fear of Magnitude 0″: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/04/05/japan-the-fear-of-magnitude-0/

[27] Southeast Asia: Media Says Sorry Over ‘Insensitive’ Japan Posts: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/04/02/southeast-asia-media-says-sorry-over-%E2%80%98insensitive%E2%80%99-japan-posts/

[28] Japan: The Tsunami, God and Man: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/31/japan-the-tsunami-god-and-man/

[29] Japan: Relief Tweets for Refugee Parents: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/27/japan-relief-tweets-for-refugee-parents/

[30] Japan: The Importance of Getting Back to Normal: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/24/japan-the-importance-of-getting-back-to-normal/

[31] Serbia: Returning Gratitude for the Japanese Donations: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/23/serbia-returning-gratitude-for-the-japanese-donations/

[32] Bulgaria: Offering Shelter to Japanese Earthquake Victims: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/19/bulgaria-offering-shelter-to-japanese-earthquake-victims/

[33] Japan: “The Light and Darkness of Social Media”: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/19/japan-the-light-and-darkness-of-social-media/

[34] Japan: Wondering About the Meaning of Life: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/19/japan-wondering-about-the-meaning-of-life/

[35] Japan: Tweeting from Fukushima: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/19/japan-tweeting-from-fukushima/

[36] Japan: Good Wishes and Prayers Sent Through Video: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/18/japan-good-wishes-and-prayers-sent-through-video/

[37] Japan: Crisis Management PR Lessons from Cabinet Secretary Edano: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/17/japan-crisis-management-pr-lessons-from-cabinet-secretary-edano/

[38] Japan: Citizen Videos of the Earthquake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/17/japan-citizen-videos-of-the-earthquake/

[39] Japan: Anime Explains Current Nuclear Crisis: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/17/japan-anime-explains-current-nuclear-crisis/

[40] South Korea: Old Feuds Forgotten as Koreans React to Japan Quake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/south-korea-old-feuds-forgotten-as-koreans-react-to-japan-quake/

[41] USA: Science Bloggers Explain Earthquakes and Tsunamis: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/usa-science-bloggers-explain-earthquakes-and-tsunamis/

[42] Philippines: Bloggers Dispel Japan Nuclear Scare Hoax: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/philippines-bloggers-dispel-japan-nuclear-scare-hoax/

[43] China: Salt Radiation Rumors Fuel Widespread Panic Buying: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/china-salt-radiation-rumors-fuel-widespread-panic-buying/

[44] Japan: Earthquakes Moving South? Anxiety Builds in Kansai: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/japan-earthquakes-moving-south-anxiety-builds-in-kansai/

[45] Japan: Social Art and Design for Earthquake Relief: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/japan-social-art-and-design-for-earthquake-relief/

[46] Ukraine: Comparing Fukushima to Chernobyl?: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/16/ukraine-comparing-fukushima-to-chernobyl/

[47] Japan: Frustrations from the Overlooked: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/15/japan-frustrations-from-the-overlooked/

[48] Japan: Waiting for the Right Moment to Help: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/15/japan-waiting-for-the-right-moment-to-help/

[49] USA: Science Bloggers Explain Fukushima: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/15/usa-science-bloggers-explain-fukushima/

[50] Japan: Tell the World to Help: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/15/japan-tell-the-world-to-help/

[51] Russia: Fukushima Plant Disaster Triggers Nuclear Power Debate: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/14/russia-fukushima-plant-disaster-trigger-nuclear-power-debate/

[52] Japan: On Catastrophes and Miracles, a Personal Account: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/14/japan-on-catastrophes-and-miracles-a-personal-account/

[53] Japan: “Not That Sound Again”: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/14/japan-not-that-sound-again/

[54] Japan: Social Translation in Times of Crisis: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/13/japan-social-translation-in-times-of-crisis/

[55] Japan: Toxic Rain, Earthquake Weapons and Other False Rumors: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/13/japan-toxic-rain-earthquake-weapons-and-other-false-rumors/

[56] Peru: Japan Earthquake and Tsunami Affect Peruvians: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/13/peru-japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-affect-peruvians/

[57] Japan: “Why do we need nuclear power?”: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/13/japan-why-do-we-need-nuclear-power/

[58] Japan: Onagawa, the Hometown I Once Knew: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/12/japan-onagawa-the-hometown-i-once-knew/

[59] Japan: Fear in Fukushima: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/12/japan-fear-in-fukushima/

[60] Taiwan: Reflection on Japan Earthquake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/12/taiwan-reflection-on-japan-earthquake/

[61] Japan: Tsunami Strikes Coast, Leaves Nothing in Wake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/11/japan-tsunami-strikes-coast-leaves-nothing-in-wake/

[62] Japan: In Tokyo after the Earthquake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/11/japan-in-tokyo-after-the-earthquake/

[63] Quake in Japan: Tokyo Tower Bent by Quake: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/11/quake-in-japan-tokyo-tower-bent-by-quake/

[64] Largest Earthquake in Recorded History in Japan: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/03/11/largest-earthquake-in-recorded-history-in-japan/

[65] Published list of hashtags and important Twitter earthquake-related usage information: http://blog.twitter.jp/2011/03/blog-post_12.html

[66] #jpquake: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23jpquake

[67] #japan: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23japan

[68] #tsunami: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23tsunami

[69] #jisin: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23jisin

[70] #jishin: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23jishin

[71] #hinan: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23hinan

[72] #eqJP: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23eqJP

[73] #prayforjapan: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23prayforjapan

[74] #Fukushima: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=%23Fukushima

[75] Global Voices Japan Earthquake 2011 list: https://twitter.com/#!/globalvoices/global-voices-in-japan-8

[76] @mamachari: http://twitter.com/mamachari

[77] @shioyama: https://twitter.com/shioyama

[78] @shirafu: https://twitter.com/shirafu

[79] @tzs: https://twitter.com/tzs

[80] @yazanbadran: http://twitter.com/yazanbadran

[81] @yslaise: http://twitter.com/yslaise

[82] Google Earth – Real Time Earthquakes: http://www.google.com/gadgets/directory?synd=earth&hl=en&gl=en&preview=on&url=http://www.google.com/mapfiles/mapplets/earthgallery/Real-time_Earthquakes.xml

[83] Google Japan Crisis Map: http://mw1.google.com/crisisresponse/2011/sendai_earthquake/google/map/sendai_earthquake_2011.html

[84] Locations of impromptu shelters: http://maps.google.co.jp/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=ja&brcurrent=3,0x605d1b87f02e57e7:0x2e01618b22571b89,0&msa=0&msid=215507572864740295322.00049e31ae027259c4dda&z=12

[85] OpenStreetMap disaster information sharing site: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/2011_Sendai_earthquake_and_tsunami

[86] Japan Earthquake 2011: http://www.google.com/crisisresponse/japanquake2011.html

[87] Tsunami Warnings/Advisories: http://www.jma.go.jp/en/tsunami/

[88] Japan ‘Person Finder’ app: http://japan.person-finder.appspot.com/

[89] Japanvolunteers.wordpress.com: http://japanvolunteers.wordpress.com/

[90] tsunami warning for the San Francisco / Monterey Bay area: http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/mtr/

Licensed Creative Commons Attribution, 2008 Global Voices Online. See attribution policy for details: http://globalvoicesonline.org/about/global-voices-attribution-policy