- Global Voices - http://globalvoicesonline.org -

Video Appeal: What You Don't Know About The Places We're From

Written by Georgia Popplewell On 20 December 2013 @ 19:03 pm | 1 Comment

In Announcements, Arts & Culture, Citizen Media, English, Good News, Ideas, Video, Weblog

Have I ever worn a grass skirt or lived in a tree? How come I speak such good English? I haven't been asked the first two since my university days in the US, but every so often some well-meaning individual hits me with the third. Among them was a Jamaican taxi driver—a fellow Caribbean citizen!—a useful reminder that no country holds the monopoly on mistaken impressions of other nationalities.

For many of us at Global Voices, correcting misperceptions about our countries and communities can be a daily pastime. It's also part of the Global Voices mission, of course, so for our 2013 end-of-year campaign we asked members of the Global Voices family to fill you in on what their countries are really about. Watch the results in this video:

What are some common misperceptions or little-known facts about your own culture or country? Drop us a line in the comments or on Twitter, using the hashtag #GVNowYouKnow!

And if you'd like to support our continuing efforts to tell the full story of what's going on in the world, please consider a financial donation [1].

Over 800 of us work together to bring you stories it's hard to find by yourself. Your contributions help support our editors, our technology, outreach and advocacy projects, and our community events.

Thank you, and happy holidays!


Featured in the video were:

Diana Lungu [2] | Moldova
Firuzeh Shokooh Valle [3] | Puerto Rico
Hisham Almiraat [4] | Morocco
Maria Sidiropoulou [5] | Greece
Mong Palatino [6] | Philippines
Janine Mendes-Franco [7] | Trinidad and Tobago
Ashish Bohora | India
Jane Ellis [8] | Panama
Nwachukwu Egbunike [9] | Nigeria
Yoo Eun Lee [10] | South Korea
Ruslan Trad [11] | Bulgaria
Chris Moya [12] | Spain
Solana Larsen [13] | World


Article printed from Global Voices: http://globalvoicesonline.org

URL to article: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2013/12/20/globalvoices-world-culture-country-misperception/

URLs in this post:

[1] a financial donation: http://globalvoicesonline.org/donate/

[2] Diana Lungu: https://globalvoicesonline.org/author/diana-lungu/

[3] Firuzeh Shokooh Valle: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/firuzeh-shokooh-valle/

[4] Hisham Almiraat: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/hisham/

[5] Maria Sidiropoulou: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/maria-sidiropoulou/

[6] Mong Palatino: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/mong/

[7] Janine Mendes-Franco: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/janine-mendes-franco/

[8] Jane Ellis: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/jane-ellis/

[9] Nwachukwu Egbunike: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/nwachukwu-egbunike/

[10] Yoo Eun Lee: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/yooeun/

[11] Ruslan Trad: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/ruslan-trad/

[12] Chris Moya: http://es.globalvoicesonline.org/author/chris-moya/

[13] Solana Larsen: http://globalvoicesonline.org/author/solana-larsen/

Licensed Creative Commons Attribution, 2008 Global Voices Online. See attribution policy for details: http://globalvoicesonline.org/about/global-voices-attribution-policy